Spiritual, Self-Help and Inspirational Books




Extracts from The Holy Science by Sri Yukteswar

Back to The Holy Science Extracts Menu  previous page

 The Holy Science Book  

Kaivalya Darshanam    

The Holy Science

Swami Sri Yukteswar Giri

Chapter IV    

Vibhuti   The Revelation

Sutra 9 



Transliteration of Sanskrit sloka   

Tatsamyamath saptapatala darshanam rushisaptakasya avirbhavah |9|


Then he perceives the manifestations of Spirit, and passes through the seven Patala Lokas (or centers in the spine), beholding the seven rishis.


In the state of baptism (Bhakti Yoga, or Surat Sabda Yoga, absorption of the Ego in the holy Sound) man repents and withdraws his self from the external world of gross matters, Bhuloka, and enters into the internal one of fine matter, the Bhuvarloka. There he perceives the manifestations of Spirit, the true Light, like seven stars in seven centers or astrally shining places, which are compared to seven golden candlesticks. These stars, being the manifestation of true Light, the Spirit, are called angels or rishis, which appear one after another in the right hand of the son of man; that is, in his right way of Divinity.

The seven golden candlesticks are the seven shining places in the body, known as brain, the sahasrara; medulla oblongata, the ajna chakra; and five spinal centers - cervical, visuddha; dorsal, anahata; lumbar, manipura; sacral, swadhishthana and coccygeal, muladhara, where the Spirit becomes manifested. Through these seven centers or churches, the Ego or son of man passes toward the Divinity. See Revelation 1:12, 13, 16, 20 and 2:1.

"And being turned, I saw seven golden candlesticks; and in the midst of the seven candlesticks one like unto the son of man...And he had in his right hand, seven stars."

"The mystery of the seven stars which thou sawest in my right hand, and the seven golden candlesticks. The seven stars are the angels of the seven churches; and the seven candlesticks which thou sawest are the seven churches."

"These things saith he that holdeth the seven stars in his right hand, who walketh in the midst of the seven golden candlesticks."

In this state of baptism (Bhakti Yoga or Surat Sabda Yoga) the Ego, Surat, the son of man, gradually passing through the seven places mentioned, acquires the knowledge thereof; and when he thus completes the journey through the whole of these regions he understands the true nature of the universe. Withdrawing his self from Bhuvarloka, the material creation, he enters into Swarloka, the source of all matters, fine and gross. There he perceives the luminous astral form around his Heart, Atom, the throne of Spirit the Creator, provided with five electricities and with two poles, Mind and Intelligence, of seven different colors as in rainbows. In this sphere of electricities, mind and intelligence, the source of all objects of senses and of organs for their enjoyment, man becomes perfectly satisfied with being in possession of all objects of his desires, and acquires a complete knowledge thereof. Hence the aforesaid astral form with its electricities and poles, the seven parts thereof, has been described as a sealed casket of knowledge, a book with seven seals. See Revelation 4:3 and 5:1

"And there was a rainbow round about the throne."

"And I saw in the right hand of him that sat on the throne a book written within and on the back side, sealed with seven seals."


The Holy Science Book is published by Self-Realization Fellowship, 3880 San Rafael Avenue, Los Angeles, California, 90065, U.S.A and copyrighted by them. Here we are providing a few sample extracts from the book for the  benefit of those who are interested.



The blog of practical spirituality